First Nagaland Olympics declared Open by Governor

Nagaland Governor PB Acharya declared the 1st Nagaland Olympics open in a spectacular opening ceremony at the DDSC Stadium in Dimapur.

The last time Dimapur was involved in a sporting activity of this distinction was in late 2009 – when it hosted the inaugural event of Dr. T Ao football tournament for the Northeast states.

The governor declared the event ‘historic’ and said that Nagaland is second to none and conveyed good wishes to all the participants.

Also in attendance were the first Naga women Olympian, Chekrovolu Swuro; the first president of Nagaland Olympic Association (NOA), Lanu Toy; current president of NOA, Neiphiu Rio; and the grand-daughter of the first Naga Olympian, Dr. T Ao.

Highlights of the programme included presentations by Lord of Rocks, Tetseo Sisters, Epicon, Nagaland Folkloric Group, Ethnic Future, Faith in Action and many more.

The event brings together 1,380 athletes from around 11 districts of the state.

It will witness sports of various disciplines including wushu, wrestling, volleyball, taekwondo, table tennis, lawn tennis, football, badminton, boxing, archery, athletics and sepaktakraw.

According to the organisers, this five-day sporting spectacle will be spread across four venues in Dimapur: Nagaland police complex at Chumoukedima, Tetso College, Niathu Resort and the Lawn Tennis centre at Kuda village.


Add comment

E-mail is already registered on the site. Please use the Login form or enter another.

You entered an incorrect username or password

Sorry, you must be logged in to post a comment.