Inaction of the Speaker of Manipur Assembly comes under judicial scrutiny

The recently alleged inaction of the Speaker of Manipur Assembly over applications seeking the disqualification of an MLA who quit the AICC and joined the BJP to become a cabinet minister has come under judicial scrutiny.

In this regard, the Manipur High Court on Friday issued notices to the Speaker of Manipur Legislative Assembly, its secretary and state forest and environment minister Th Shyamkumar.

Th Shyamkumar was elected on Congress ticket in the general elections to the state assembly in 2017. However, even before taking oath as a member of the assembly, he defected to BJP to become a cabinet minister in the Biren Singh led BJP’s coalition govt.

K Meghachandra, a Congress legislator in his petition alleged that Congress members had filed 13 similar applications for disqualification of Th Shyamkumar, however, the Speaker had failed to initiate any action till date and had thus failed to honor his plea for disqualification of Th Shyamkumar.

‘As the presiding officer of the tribunal constituted under the 10th schedule of the Indian Constitution, the speaker is supposed to dispense charge for initiation of disqualification proceedings against the minister’, he said.

The petition also alleged that the induction of Th Shyamkumar in the BJP led coalition was a violation of the para 2(1) (A) of the 10th schedule of the Indian Constitution.

In this connection, Justice Kh Nobin of the Manipur High Court issued notices to the speaker of the state assembly, its secretary and minister Shyamkumar himself.

The court has also asked the respondents to return their reply within February 28.

Besides this, cases seeking disqualifications of six other MLA’s of Congress who defected to BJP were also pending with the tribunal of the Speaker of Manipur Assembly.



Add comment

E-mail is already registered on the site. Please use the Login form or enter another.

You entered an incorrect username or password

Sorry, you must be logged in to post a comment.


by Newest
by Best by Newest by Oldest