Meghalaya Govt. Introduces five amendment Bills on Winter Session day 1

meghalaya assembly winter session

Story highlights

  • Meghalaya Govt introduces five bills on day one of the winter session
  • The winter session of Meghalaya Assembly starts on Dec 8
  • The bills comprises of four amendment bills and one new bill

The Meghalaya Assembly has recently begun with its winter session that started on December 8. On the day one, the state government introduced five amendment bills out of which one is the new bill.

The list of amendment bills as follows:

The Government of Meghalaya introduced five bills on day one of the winter session that begins on December 8.

As per the information, these bills are comprised of four amendment bills and one new bill.

The Chief Minister Mukul Sangma has introduced the Meghalaya Essential Services Maintenance(Amendment) Bill 2017. He also introduced the Meghalaya Anatomy Bill, 2017,

The Minister incharge parliamentary Affair Martin M Danggo has introduced The Legislative Assembly Of Meghalaya Members’ Salaries and Allowances (Amendment) Bill 2017.

The Minister incharge Taxation Mr Zenith M Sangma today introduce the Meghalaya Passengers and Goods Taxation Act (Amendment) Bills 2017.

The Chief Minister Mukul Sangma also introduce the Meghalaya Nursing Council (Amendment) Bills 2017.

The five Bills were introduced on the day one of the winter session and they will be taken up on the last day of the session on the December 14.

Assembly pays homage to 17 political leaders

The Meghalaya Legislative Assembly on the first day of the winter session paid tribute to 17 political leaders, from among them four are from the State who passed away recently.

The Chief Minister Mukul Sangma, speaking at the obituary reference, recalled the contribution of late Mr. Probin K Raswai MLA of erstwhile Langrin Constituency, Mr. Manirul Islam Sarkar of Phulbari Constituency, Mr. Elstoneroy Kharkongor of Nongkrem Constituency and Mr. Herbert Suchiang from Raliang Constituency.

In his speech, the Chief Minister said that these leaders thought they were no longer as MLA, but as Ex-MLA they continued served their people in their respective constituencies at a different capacity.

Adding to this he also said, their demised have left the vacuum. He prays that the Almighty God grant them eternal peace.

Others who were participating in the obituary are the leaders of the opposition, Dr. Donkupar Roy, Dr. DD Lapang both are former Chief Minister, Martin M Danggo minister incharge PWD, Mr. Zenith M Sangma minister in charge Taxation, Mr. James K Sangma, and Ardentmillar Basaiawmoit.

Also Read: CM Mukul Sangma Dares Rebel MLAs to Quit Before Election 2018


Add comment

E-mail is already registered on the site. Please use the Login form or enter another.

You entered an incorrect username or password

Sorry, you must be logged in to post a comment.


by Newest
by Best by Newest by Oldest