Tripura Polls: 1000 defectors from TMC finally return to Congress

tripura congress

Story highlights

  • In 2016, 1000 TMC workers left the party to join BJP
  • All the workers have finally returned to Congress ahead of assembly polls
  • Mujibur Islam, former head of the NSUI, led the return of 1000 workers

The 1000 workers who have defected the Trinamool Congress last year in the month of June finally returns to Congress ahead of the elections in the state. These workers have left the party to join Bhartiya Janta Party after six TMC MLAs left the party with the same intention.

“People at grassroots still have faith in the Congress”

Tripura Congress Vice President Tapas Dey recently mentioned the effort made by the former head of the National Students’ Union of India(NSUI), Mujibur Islam who with his efforts led the return of 1000 workers in the Congress.

As per the information, around 1000 workers who left the Trinamool Congress to join BJP in 2016 has now returned to the Congress ahead of Assembly Elections in the state.

These workers had left the party along with six MLAs, who had joined the Trinamool Congress in protest against the Congress’ alliance with the Left in West Bengal ahead of the Assembly elections in the state.

Later, the six legislators had ditched the TMC in August to join the Bharatiya Janata Party.

On the matter, the Congress MLA Gopal Roy said, “People at the grassroots still have faith in the Congress and believe that our party is the only alternative to the Left Front in Tripura”.

Adding to this he said, “The BJP cannot lure people through their false promises anymore.”

Congress Working President in Tripura Pradyot Kishore Deb Burman, who is also the head of the royal family in the state, spoke to the defectors a few days ago, the report said.

The six MLAs who left the party to join BJP are now being recognized as the MLAs of BJP by the Tripura Assembly Speaker.

In a statement, the Speaker Ramendra Chandra Debnath said, “they have broken all relations with the Trinamool Congress and joined the BJP and have been recognized as BJP MLAs”.

However, BJP criticised the speaker for the “delay” in recognizing them as its MLAs.

Also Read: Tripura Teacher’s Agitation: Police Lifts Rail, road blockades in the state


Add comment

E-mail is already registered on the site. Please use the Login form or enter another.

You entered an incorrect username or password

Sorry, you must be logged in to post a comment.