Two Independent MLAs Join BJP, Might Get Disqualified

Justine Dkhar and Robinus Syngkon, the two independent MLAs from the state have joined BJP and the speculations are that they might get disqualified.
Former Speaker of Meghalaya Legislative Assembly Bindo M Lanong said that the two independent MLAs attract the case of disqualification under the 10th Schedule. Mr. M Lanong had disqualified five MLAs for shifting allegiance from MPA to the Congress-led MUA government in 2009 among which there were independents as well.

On the note of Supreme Court’s verdict of the Haryana High Court case which says that independent MLAs joining a party will stand disqualified, Mr. M Lanong firmed his statement. The UDP working president added that the two MLAs can lend their support to the party but they cannot join the party.

On the other hand, the official Speaker of the Meghalaya Legislative Assembly Mr. AT Mondal said that he is not aware of the political advancements taking place in the state.  He further added, “I will have to see the details before taking a call on the matter.”

On MLAs’ disqualification under the 10th Schedule, Justine Dkhar said that they would have to resign from the government. And after taking that step, there wuld not be any threat of getting disqualified.

Also, the BJP leader Nalin Kohli has ridiculed such speculations of anti-defection law saying that the Congress is panicked with such developments in the state. He further added, “There will be many more joining us and there will be lots of surprises in the coming days.”


Add comment

E-mail is already registered on the site. Please use the Login form or enter another.

You entered an incorrect username or password

Sorry, you must be logged in to post a comment.

1 comment

by Newest
by Best by Newest by Oldest